Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism and Communication

  • Asia's Oldest Govt. University for Media and Journalism
  • India's Largest Govt. Media University 
  • UGC, AICTE, NAAC certified Degrees in media that are recognised nationally and internationally, including by the United Nations
  • India's most specialised university for media education, skills and practical training
  • University helped establish Indian Media Industry from the time of Doordarshan, All India Radio to privatisation of Indian Media in late 1990s  

IAAN School of Mass Communication is the only affiliated college (associate study centre) of Makhanlal University in entire Delhi NCR, being associated with the University for almost 25 years

VC Sir

Honourable Vice Chancellor Prof (Dr.) K G Suresh


  1. The University is named after Makhanlal Chaturvedi, a renown national Freedom Fighter, Poet and Journalist.
  2. The University is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).
  3. The University has jurisdiction throughout the country and even Abroad. 

       In keeping with its National Character :

  • The Vice President of India is the Visitor of the University.
  • The General Council of the University, which is its Apex Body, comprises, amongst others, the Chairperson of the Press Council of India (Central Statutory Independent Authority)
  • The University has been the hallmark of media education in India for over 34 years and counting


MCRPV Convocation - IAAN Wins 2 Gold Medals


From then Honourable Vice Chancellor in the 1st University Convocation Ceremony


What makes Makhanlal University the first choice for media and communication education in the entire country is its comprehensive academics with exceptional industry exposure and quality education with an affordable fee structure and the best professional environment.

 Very Importantly the University does not provide open education or education through correspondence. Entire education at the University and IAAN is regular, classroom based with practical training and skilling. In media, you learn by doing.